City of Flora

Good things happen when good people work together!

Flora, being in Clay County, is included in Illinois Eastern Community Colleges District 529.  This district is comprised of Frontier Community College (Fairfield), Lincoln Trail College (Robinson), Olney Central College (Olney), and Wabash Valley College (Mt. Carmel).

IECC is small enough in size to give individuals personal attention, yet comprehensive enough to offer programs in a broad range of academic fields.  IECC offers two-year degrees in transfer or occupational programs and other options as well.

The website for IECC is  The various community college campuses can be reached at:

Frontier Community College618-842-3711
Lincoln Trail College618-544-8657
Olney Central College618-395-7777
Wabash Valley College


McKendree University/Flora, Illinois

In an effort to make higher education available to persons in southern Illinois, McKendree University of Lebanon, Illinois, the oldest four year accredited university in the State of Illinois, established in 1828, and the City of Flora, Illinois have entered into a unique partnership. In order to keep credit hour costs as low as possible, Flora will provide the facility, utilities and computer lab. McKendree will provide the instructors, course materials and furnishings. The facility and course programs will be under the direction of Dean of External Programs, Robert Gervasi, Ph.D. McKendree established off campus education forty years ago. They have facilities in Louisville and Radcliff, Kentucky and Scott Air Force Base, Illinois.

McKendree will offer Computer System Information Management and Business Administration bachelor programs. These programs are designed to accommodate persons with Associate Degrees who are in the workforce, recent community college graduates and persons with enough transferable credits to enter either a third or fourth year quest for their bachelor's degree.

McKendree has scheduled student enrollment to begin in April, 2004.